Swanwick and Pentrich Churches
- St Andrew and St Matthew -

Reading the Bible

he Bible is the Holy Book of the Christian faith. There is lots of variety in the 66 books of the Bible and it includes history,
law, poetry, allegory, prophecy, letters, proverbs and apocalyptic literature.

It is divided into two sections:

  1. The Old Testament which tells the story of God’s people the Israelites before the birth of Jesus;
  2. The New Testament which tells about Jesus’ birth, life, death and resurrection and the story of the early church.

The first 4 books of the New Testament are considered to be the most important part of the Bible for Christians and are known as ‘The Gospels’. They were written to describe the life and teachings of Jesus to those who would come to know him after the original disciples of Jesus died. They are not strict biographies of Jesus, but selective accounts that would show his meaning and purpose in coming to earth.

Community Web Kit provided free by BT